The Year Of The Onion


These will also come in super handy for Halloween when I need something that looks like worms.

These will also come in super handy for Halloween when I need something that looks like worms.

I didn’t do much today, for a change. Mostly it was a day for laying around the house watching movies on television like “Snow White and the Huntsman” and “Forrest Gump”. I did manage to go for a quick run, which was pleasant but not very notable in the scheme of runs (no flocks of birds or falling stars).

Really, the only productive thing that I did all day was learn how to pickle onions.

It has been a year of the onion. I’ve discovered that I like them. I discovered this while on a trip when the Curmudgeonly Lion and I stopped into a restaurant for Mexican food and the enchiladas came topped with pickled red onions. My normal instinct would be to pick them off, but I tried them before I knew what they were and they were, quite possibly,  the best part of the meal.

The Curmudgeonly Lion decided to try to make them at home so he went online in search of a recipe and has been fiddling with it ever since. The first batch included “regular”, “lemon peel” and “garlic” flavors all of which were delicious on tacos. Today’s batch included “sweet”, “dill”, and “lime” which were delicious on burgers.

So I didn’t do much and I don’t have much to say so I’m just going to wrap this up here. As Forrest Gump would say: “That’s all I have to say about that.”

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on December 20, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
