Stellar


We spend months putting out fires together and she sends me to the movies.

You spend months putting out fires with someone and they get to know your taste in movies.

There came a knock at the door. The Curmudgeonly Lion and I looked at each other in confusion: it was a Saturday morning and we weren’t expecting anyone.

“Who is it?” We asked.

“FedEx.”

“Are you expecting anything?”

“No, are you?”

“No.”

The Curmudgeonly Lion got up and answered the door. It was a small flat package from Amazon.com addressed to me. I didn’t know what it was or who had sent it: I’d already received and unpacked the gift boxes from my folks and from family friends. And I’d already received everything that I’d ordered for the Curmudgeonly Lion.

I opened it.

Inside was a square envelope with a ribbon around it. On the front was a folded notecard.

“Go see ‘Interstellar’.” It said. It was from my producing partner from the past semester. Inside the envelope was a gift card to a movie theatre.

This was a great gift. The surprise of it was delightful, for one thing, but so too was the specificity. It wasn’t just “go to the movies” it was “go to ‘Interstellar’.” Half of our problem with going out to see a movie is trying to choose what to see and this gave us a specific goal. It occurred to me that this would be a great gift to ask for in the future when I don’t know what else to put on a list: “Tell Us What Movie To See”.

So today we went. It was an afternoon screening at the Arclight Theatre which is one of my favorite theatres to go to because the audience’s are some of the most responsive and polite audiences that I’ve had the pleasure of being a part of. No cell phones. No small children. No loud conversations. Sometimes people even sit through the credits.

The movie was intense. And there was three hours of it. I’ve been focusing on short film for so long that I often forget just how long a feature film is and how much ground it can cover- even when it’s not a mind warping plot about space-time discontinuity (spoiler alert: some scenes take place in five dimensions).

But I was glad that I went and I’m glad that I saw a movie like “Interstellar” in the movie theatres: it is definitely a big screen, surround sound, invest-your-afternoon-in-a-movie-going-experience kind of experience. Not only that, but this was the second movie that the Curmudgeonly Lion and I have gotten to see in theatres inside of a week: a rarity for us.

So, to my producing partner: thank you so much- it was a wonderful gift. Now all I need to do is decide whether or not I want to cover my bookcase before I change tonight.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on December 21, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
