Morning Pages


Ah ha! I was wondering where I put all my dubloons.

Ah ha! I was wondering where I put all my doubloons.

If you sit down to write in the morning you have plenty of energy, but not much in the way of inspiration. If you sit down to write in the evening you have plenty of inspiration, but not much in the way of energy.

I’m trying to be proactive this morning. It is the week of Christmas and I’m in that narrow band of no-man’s-land (or time, rather) in which it is too late to mail anything with any hope of it arriving by Christmas but there are still a few days left before we can celebrate. The gifts are bought and wrapped. The house is decorated. Cookies are made. The rest I am just learning to let go of.

So why, then, do I still have a million things to do?

I think part of the pressure of the holiday season is because we are not only preparing for an elaborate holiday celebration but we are also trying to wrap up an entire year’s worth of loose ends. At least, I know I am. I like going into the new year with a clean slate- or at least a clean house. I try to drag as little baggage into the new year with me as I can, but that does mean I need a little bit of time to organize my thoughts (and paperwork, and household) at a time of year when there is very little time to be had. No one says “Sorry, I can’t go to your holiday party, I have to sort my old credit card statements.”

The point is, I’m working to be proactive about writing so that I can get on to getting myself organized. The last time I made an effort to get organized it was May, so I’ve got my work cut out for me: six months of sedimentary miscellany has been building up in corners and on unused surfaces and who knows what kind of gems I might find when I start mining them. There is something satisfying about getting rid of stuff.

On that note I’m going to wrap it up for the day. Tomorrow maybe I will have uncovered something interesting to write about.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on December 22, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
