Best Dressed


image

This picture has nothing to do with this post, it just looks cool.

My mom and I went clothes shopping today. Clothes shopping is typically a task that I dread for being frustrating, exhausting, and expensive, but my mom knew of a thrift store in Highland Park that routinely got donations of high end items from the town’s wealthier citizens and I didn’t have any other plans so I figured it would be a good excuse to spend some time with my mom.

On rare occasions, today being one of them, I get lucky with my shopping. I collected a huge armload of clothes to try on and almost half of them fit and looked good. I wound up with two nice coats, a little black dress, two sweaters, two shirts, and about six pairs of pants (all of which were fifty percent off) . It’s reasonable to say that this will probably constitute my wardrobe for the next five years or so.

Aside from my shopping expedition it was a fairly laid back day: I finished reading a book that I’d borrowed from my Dad called “In The Heart Of The Sea” which was about a whaling ship that was rammed by a sperm whale (later inspiring Herman Melville to write “Moby Dick”) and the struggle of the crew to survive for ninety three days at sea in the whaling boats. It was a well written book, but was a little bit difficult to read about the extreme hunger and dehydration of the survivors while surrounded by the abundance leftover from the holidays.

I was able to look up my grades from the past semester and was pleased to discover that I’d received all “A’s” even though I was slightly chagrined to find that one of them was an A- pushing my GPA even further from the coveted 4.0.  I never thought that I’d be the kind of person who was disappointed by an A-. Ahh well.

The day finished on a high note when I finally had a chance to show my parents the film that I’d spent the last five months of my life working on. They had nice things to say about it which was good to hear after working so hard on it for so long. So it was a quiet day but a productive one. More excitement to come tomorrow I’m sure.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on December 29, 2014.

One Response to “Best Dressed”

  1. Sounds like a wonderful day! And all A’s! Very impressive!

Leave a Reply

 
