Goalie


image

It is good to aspire to the heights.

Happy New Year!

In spite of staying up well past my bedtime to ring in the new year I didn’t manage to finish the year with a post so I’m starting fresh for 2015 and trying to launch some new good habits. Typically today would be the day that I would go over my goal chart from last year to see how well my attempts measured up to my aspirations but I didn’t bring my chart with me on the road so I will just have to wait until I get home to see how I did.

As for new goals, I find myself less inspired than normal to come up with new plans. Mostly I hope to continue with the goals that I already have and see if I can improve my odds. I know that I fell short of my running goals for the year, for instance, so I’m going to set the same goal again and see if I can get closer to accomplishing it. The same goes for reading books: it’s a habit that I could stand to improve.

My only new goal, at least so far, is to eat more vegetables: one serving at lunch, one serving at dinner. Potatoes don’t count. I realized around the time of Thanksgiving that I’d gotten wildly out of the habit of eating veggies so I think that I could only benefit by making an effort to eat more of them.  It’s easier than resolving to lose weight, anyway.

I’m looking forward to 2015 but I expect that it is likely to be a year full of hard work.  If I’m very lucky it will also be a year of progress and maybe even profit if I’m able to translate some of these new skills that I’m developing into gainful employment. As the Curmudgeonly Lion always admonishes me:  “school first, then work” which I agree with,  but it would be nice to be able to do a bit of both. If I can’t manage to find a job while still in school, then it’ll mean more time to spend with the Curmudgeonly Lion himself which might not be such a bad thing. It’s a win-win as they like to say.

So the new year is looking bright. I’m looking forward to getting to work and, while my goals may not have changed much, at least I get a fresh chance to pursue them.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 1, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
