Rainy Day


A stay-in kind of day.

A stay-in kind of day.

It rained today.

We ascertained this when we woke up in the morning and the ground in the courtyard was wet. Our neighbors, when they passed outside the window, were bundled up in jackets and hoodies as if contact with the rain would cause them to melt like the Wicked Witch of the West. So we stayed in. We watched episodes of “The Newsroom” on OnDemand and napped and generally did nothing else useful with our day.

Actually, that’s not strictly true: I did finally manage to address all the envelopes for our Christmas cards and even wrote a newsletter to go with them: two tasks that have been hanging over my head like a sword of Damocles for the past ten days. It will be a great relief to finally cross those off my list when I mail them out on Monday.

Aside from that, though, it was a laid back day: possibly my last such day for the next four or five months, so I wanted to enjoy it. The nerves that I was feeling a few days ago seem to have eased off a bit thanks to yesterday’s training, but they are still hovering near the periphery of my attention like disgruntled furies waiting for their opportunity to strike. My best bet for keeping them at bay is typically keeping myself busy. I’ll only have to keep it up for one more day: once classes begin I’ll have other things to worry about.

So I don’t have much in the way of news, but I’m pleased to say that now that it is ten days into the new year I’ve been doing a pretty good job of keeping up with my goals for the new year. I know that it won’t last forever: sooner or later life will get in the way of the best laid plans, but it’s nice to be off to a solid start. Veggies at lunch and dinner has been very manageable so far (this will definitely depend upon my ability to do regular grocery shopping) and I’ve written a post every single day so far even if it has meant writing something on my phone at ten o clock at night just to keep my record good. I’d like to say that I’ve finished another book, but I had to renew two of the books I got from the library to buy myself some more time. Ahh well, I’m still off to a good start.

And with that said, I’m now off to bed. Tomorrow, as they say, is another day.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 10, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
