At Last


This should keep me busy until Monday.

This should keep me busy until Monday.

If yesterday was a day for lying around relaxing then today was a day for getting things done.

I spent most of the day working on Christmas cards. At last they are ready to go in the mail tomorrow: only a few weeks behind scheduled, but done at last. It is a great blessing to have so many friends and family to want to correspond with and at the same time the task of actually writing a personalized note to everybody takes on a certain repetitiveness that makes it difficult to stay focused. I like writing letters, but even I found myself trying to think of excuses to put it off.

Now being backed up against the deadline of the Start Of Classes I found myself finally getting around to all the last minute school related tasks that I’d been putting off as well: receipts that needed filing. Emails that needed sending. I’m still nervous about tomorrow so I keep distracting myself with busywork which is helpful for getting things done and not very imaginative when it comes to writing anything interesting: imagination added to anxiety can be like gasoline on fire.

I know I’ve written about being nervous and anxious about the start of classes in several posts now, which I’m sure makes me seem very nervous and anxious indeed, but in reality the feeling comes and goes and tends to be the thing that I write about because it tends to be the most memorable part of my day. And when you have several days in a row of just relaxing around the house and taking care of the boring busywork of life you find yourself reaching for anything that sticks out in mind as memorable to fill out the dwindling supply of topics that could actually be considered interesting.

On that note, I plan to keep this short. I still have a book that I need to try to finish tonight because it is due tomorrow and I need to get out the door first thing in the morning. So that’s all for today.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 11, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
