Movie Time


That's pretty much the expression on my face when I run out of time too.

That’s pretty much the expression on my face when I run out of time too.

We went to see a preview screening of “Project Almanac” this evening. Aside from seeing the ads on television I didn’t know anything about the film, but the opportunity presented itself so the Curmudgeonly Lion and I decided to go. The screening was on the Paramount lot, which is always a lot of fun to visit. We drove separately: he coming from work and me coming from campus. I arrived to discover a line forming outside the studio gates: enthusiasm, at least, seemed to be abundant.

Getting in line, though, I began to realize just how old I’m getting to be: even though I go to a university campus every day and therefore am probably surrounded by undergrads at all times I find that I have this insulated sense of being surrounded by people my own age (or roughly thereabouts). Standing in line, though, I was clearly a little island of Grown Up in a sea of Young Whippersnapper. Ahh well. As much as I complain I’m sure that this is exactly the same predicament that the Curmudgeonly Lion finds himself in whenever he is surrounded by my group of friends.

The movie itself was quite good: entertaining and engaging all the way through, visually interesting, conceptually interesting… maybe there were a few plot holes, but they were suspend-able moments of disbelief (Why didn’t he change his t-shirt? Why did no one notice a strange man walking into a seven year old’s birthday party? Did they really just casually invent a fusion device to power the time transporter? You know, details). I enjoyed it, anyway. Time travel is always an interesting topic although there is always the problem of trying to manage the complexity of looping timelines.

I’ve actually been giving a lot of thought to my past self of late. Recently I went through the filing cabinet in the office to clear out some old documents and bills and I found myself sorting a bunch of old letters to put into storage. I found a stack of letters that I’d written and shoved away in a pile and found myself unwilling to read them: evidence, as they are, of a younger, more embarrassing version of myself. I’m too sentimental to get rid of them but too embarrassed to look at them… this is why our storage locker is so full, LOL.

At any rate, time is flying and I don’t have a time machine to set the clock back so I’m going to wrap this up for the night.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 16, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
