The cats helped me with the napping part.

The cats helped me with the napping part.

It was about four in the afternoon when I ran out of steam.

All in all it had been a busy day: we got up early and went out to breakfast: partly as a treat and partly because we had no more eggs in the house. This was fun and novel: weekends are typically the mornings that we stay home if we can help it. Breakfast was followed by a trip to the hardware store: now that the Curmudgeonly Lion is the proud owner of a table saw we needed to figure out someplace to keep it so the first construction project on his list was a storage crate that can live out on our patio. We purchased the necessary building materials and a pneumatic nail gun set and then he went home to play with his new toys and I went to campus to assist on a “boot camp” for production sound.

The sound bootcamp went well and finished earlier than I expected. This left me some time to run errands on my way home (including picking up eggs at the grocery store). When I made it home I barely had time to get the groceries in the refrigerator before it was time to help construct the table saw crate on the patio. This will be the first day that I break my perfect record of having veggies with lunch and dinner for the simple fact that I just never got around to having lunch. (It’s OK, I had a big breakfast. A Bigger Better Breakfast in fact.)

By about four in the afternoon all I had the energy for was a nap. I’d had this vague idea of going for a run, but I just didn’t have the energy for it anymore. I fell onto the bed and lay there listening to the sounds of the neighborhood outside the window: I never really slept but after a while I at least felt rested. Every so often I get this feeling of weariness that seems to well up inside me as if it comes sweating out of my bones. My whole body feels heavy and tired: especially around the joints. Sleep seems like a battery that never charges: it doesn’t seem to matter how long or well I sleep, I still feel a little bit tired. It has actually been quite a while since I felt this way, but every time I feel it I worry that I might be sliding back towards a period of depression and ennui. If I’m lucky it will pass.

At any rate, the rest of the evening has been quite relaxing so I think I’m on the mend. Tomorrow I have no plans to go out so I’ll be able to recharge for a day or two.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 17, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
