Curtains


You must bring us... a drapery!

You must bring us… a drapery!

It’s a task that has been on my to do list since we moved into this apartment: make curtains for the studio. I’ve had all the fabric and I’ve had a pretty good sense of how I wanted to put it all together the only thing holding me back was finding the time to actually break out the sewing machine and get it done.

Well, today was the day. Since it was a holiday and I didn’t have any other plans, I finally sat down and did it.

Mostly.

I still need to hem them to the right length, but it feels like progress, which is good because it’s pretty much the only thing that I got done today. I suppose that’s not strictly true: I did also made it out for a run, but on the scale of accomplishments getting the curtains done was a bigger deal. I’ve actually been on a bit of a roll when it comes to crossing things off my list this month: it is a rare pleasure to be productive like this so I am trying to enjoy it while I can.

Aside from spending the day stitching I don’t have much to write about, which is frustrating because I feel like I ought to have something more meaningful to say other than just being kinda proud about crossing things off a to do list, but there you have it: life is sometimes boring and unremarkable. There’s a very pithy quote that is along the lines of: “The reason we struggle with insecurity is because we compare our behind-the-scenes with everyone else’s highlight reel.” This is certainly true in my life. I would make a very boring reality television star.

That said, though, I’m not sure I would be very happy if there were no boring moments in my life to provide counterpoint to the excitement that seems to find me whether I want it to or not. It’s kind of nice to have a whole day to just sit around the house sewing curtains. So on that note I think I will call it a night.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 19, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
