Regular Roads


And it has made all the difference.

And it has made all the difference.

Friday at last!

For having been a short week it certainly has been a long week and I’m looking forward to having a weekend to catch my breath and catch up on my homework. The benefit of having evening classes is that it leaves me free during the day to work and to take on internships, but the disadvantage is that it means there is virtually no time to unwind at the end of the day after getting home.

By comparison, today was a relatively early day: I found myself driving home around six in the evening. The disadvantage to this, of course, is that it means driving home at rush hour.

On a Friday.

I decided to take surface roads instead of competing with traffic on the highway. It is difficult to know whether the route I took was actually any faster than the highway, but at least it had variety in its favor. I tried to stick to the wider roads: the ones that were wide enough to include turn lanes. When I got stuck behind a slowpoke or traffic seemed to be dragging I would turn on the next main street that I came to and see if that ran any smoother.

By this planning I found myself skirting the edge of the fashion district (pun not intended, but delightful). In that stretch of the city at that time of the night traffic was actually pretty good because there was no one around. The streets had an eerie, abandoned feeling: three story flat fronted buildings lined the street on either side of the street making it feel like a back lot designed to prevent the eye from seeing anything behind the facade. All the doors and windows were closed off by rolling metal security doors turning the facade into the edifice of an urban canyon.

I found myself taken aback by how alien this landscape looked to me: it was a strangely overt message of None Of Your Business written across the face of every building for several blocks. By the time that I made it to a road that I knew very well and drove every day I found myself looking at those familiar surroundings as if I’d never seen them before.

I suppose it is good to get off the beaten path every so often to see the world through new eyes. It makes me realize how much of this city I simply don’t know, which is a feeling both intimidating and exciting. I’m not sure that today’s route would be one that I would take on a regular basis, but I think I might have a new appreciation for the comfort of my regular roads knowing the alternatives that exist.

 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 23, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
