Minding Matters


I have such bags under my eyes. 

To a certain extent, I’ve had them for years: my eyes crumple up when I smile into weird pouches that would generally go away when I had a straight face, but the bags are starting to stick around and are now beginning to take on a bit of shadow as well. I sometimes find myself thinking regretfully about the good looks that I’ve lost: good looks that I may or may not have ever had: mistaking youth for beauty.

What a difficult thing it is to age. And I am just seeing the very beginnings of it: some days I choose to ignore it and some days I cope by denying it, but it’s happening whether I admit it or acknowledge it or not.
I was listening to a radio morning show talk about a list of 36 questions that Psychology Today had put together as a way for strangers to get to know one another. I looked them up later, curious as to what the questions asked about that made them so uniquely insightful. I’m still not sure that I know, but I liked the questions in general. One in particular caught my eye: it went something along the lines of: “You are going to live to be ninety but can choose to live the next sixty years with either the body or the mind of a thirty year old. Which do you choose?” It caught my eye because it raised so many other questions. The body of a thirty year old was clear enough: a fully grown body, still youthful, that never gets old. Got it.  Love it. Wish it were a real option. But the mind of a thirty year old? How does a mind fail to age? By failing to learn? By staying sharp but absorbing nothing? By having a great memory but no new memories? By still having the arrogance confidence and motivation of youth but none of the wisdom or expertise of age?

I personally would have to choose the body that stays age thirty for sixty years even if it means having a mind that will grow old: I’d rather be completely dotty and still able to see and hear carry stuff and not worry about falling and breaking a hip than to be frail and achy and driven by a mind full of harebrained schemes with an inability to learn anything.

This answer actually surprised me a bit: as someone who enjoys thinking I’m surprised to find myself putting so much emphasis on the body. I don’t think that it is a factor of vanity- though that would be a nice perk, but I do think that it is a factor of the belief that mind may prevail over matter but matter can do a lot to change a mind.

At any rate, mind and matter both need some sleep now, so that’s all for tonight. This probably explains the bags under my eyes.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 28, 2015.

One Response to “Minding Matters”

  1. Words fail me!

Leave a Reply

 
