Running Recovery


Cough drops: not candy.

Cough drops: not candy.

I’m not quite sick.

That is, I thought that I was coming down with something last week and I think that I’ve pretty much fought it off now, but every so often I get a little tickle in my throat that is just unshakeable. It made it difficult to sleep during the night (coupled with the fact that I spent most of the night tossing and turning over the quirks of the budgeting software that I am trying to learn how to use) which probably didn’t help my immune system much. I stuck a handful of cough drops in my pocket “just in case” when I left the house, but they are all gone now.

So I’m not quite sick, but I’m not quite well either. I’m not exactly trying to fight it off so much as I am trying to outrun it, like some kind of annoying salesman. A part of me hopes that if I just keep ducking behind excuses like “Oops, sorry, can’t be sick right now I have to go to work” or “I’d love to, but I really have to go to this class first,” etc that this cold will get the message that it’s just not wanted and will go away. It hasn’t worked yet, but there’s plenty of excuses left for the rest of the week.

The taste of cough drops always reminds me of the first days when we arrived in town. The Curmudgeonly Lion and I left Chicago with the worst colds that we’d ever had and arrived in town with no furniture and nothing to do except lie around watching “Game of Thrones” and consuming cough drops non stop until the truck arrived with all our stuff.

At any rate, you know you’ve reached the bottom of the topics barrel when you start talking about your health: it’s a little bit like talking about the weather. Maybe by tomorrow I will have a stroke of inspiration for tomorrow.

 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on February 9, 2015.

One Response to “Running Recovery”

  1. We’ve got it too! Actually we’re mostly over it but man, both of us were in bed this weekend, every joint aching, nose stuffy, head hurting. Now my lungs just feel heavy, but the worst has passed. Hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

 
