Sunday on a Monday


I'm sure there is a Sunday around here somewhere.

I’m sure there is a Sunday around here somewhere.

Not everybody is lucky enough to get President’s Day off.

It is one of those tricky holidays that is only sometimes taken seriously. I was lucky enough to have the day off. The Curmudgeonly Lion had to go to work. So I’m not really complaining about it, but I do know that it is going to throw off my mental schedule for the rest of the week when I keep forgetting what day it is.

To me, today feels like a Sunday: I had most of the day to do whatever I wanted. In the morning I helped a friend with her directing scene and made my first grad-school-project onscreen debut as an actor. The shoot went well but class is going to be excruciating when I have to sit and watch myself: my self-consciousness being the first reason why I’m not an actor. But no matter: it was for a friend so I’m glad I did it. I got to play a mom, which felt weird, but was fun.

I had to get up at the crack of dawn to be on set but that meant that we wrapped before noon and I had time to have coffee with an actor friend (a real actor, that is, with mad skillz) and still get home early enough to avoid rush hour and go for a run.

Running has pretty well been relegated to the weekends since my weekdays are packed so solid from dawn to dusk. To make things even more confusing for my biological clock, I didn’t get around to running yesterday (the actual weekend) because I was on campus for most of the day recording foley for a couple films and rehearsing my own directing scene with my own actors (real ones also with mad skills) so I didn’t get home until it was already dusk. So today was a welcome opportunity to make up for the fact that I didn’t get to go running yesterday, but having Sunday on a  Monday is going to haunt me for the rest of the week.

On the plus side: it will be a short week- I’m already one whole day closer to next weekend, which is good because the days between now and the weekend are going to be extra full ones. If there was going to be a week in which I got out of the habit of writing then this coming week would probably be it, although I plan to fight that urge as much as I can. If my work isn’t very interesting for the next few days then I apologize in advance.

It’s going to be a different kind of running for the next few days.

 

 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on February 16, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
