Seven Views From Qatar


On the plus side, I was able to spend the evening focused on a project that had been hanging over my head all weekend and was able to make some pretty good progress. On the minus side, it means that I am writing something frantically, on my phone, late at night and I have no theme or plan for this post.

Working frantically, on my phone, and rushing from task to task right up until the very last minute seems to be the theme of my day, though. Some days everything seems to fall in place in a leisurely and orderly pace.  Other days are frantic bursts of uninterrupted chaos. Today feel into the latter category. I forced myself to make a list in the morning and I was pretty good about sticking to it, but, as per usual, I didn’t finish it.

I had all these ideas for things to write about during the course of the day, but now I can’t think of any of them.  The ideas that I can remember aren’t really worth an entire post all by themselves. For example I was looking over my stats for my blog viewership and realized that I was getting a bunch of hits from Qatar of all places. “A bunch” being about seven- roughly a third of my total views for the day (I’m not exactly a trending commodity).  I’m not even sure I could point to Qatar on a map- I certainly couldn’t see it on the postage-stamp sized map included on the stats page. It did occur to me, though, that “Seven Views From Qatar” had a nice ring to it as a title for something, but I wouldn’t have the first idea of what to write about as its content.

The only reason I even remembered this tidbit of information was the fact that I saw someone wearing what I presume was a football jersey with Qatar written on the front while I was walking to campus. Probably just a coincidence, but a serendipitous one.

On that note, I’ve pretty well exhausted my creative writing resources for today. With luck I’ll have something more interesting to say tomorrow.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on February 17, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
