To Rest


Ahh the sound of nap time

Ahh the sound of nap time

It was the day of the directing scene: a project that I’d been planning and putting off for two weeks due to scheduling conflicts and general mismanagement of my own production details. But today was the day: I had to shoot it or I wouldn’t get another chance. The weather was threatening rain- on and off drizzle all day- and even though it was *just* a directing scene it still had me in knots-of-the-stomach and palpitations-of-the-heart for days in advance. There were so many things to potentially go wrong and I was thinking about all of them.

I got up early because I couldn’t sleep. I went to the shoot and the Curmudgeonly Lion went with me because I needed the help and even though I was too much of a coward to ask for it he knew it and was ready to be there for me: the kind of gift of incalculable value which I recognize but doubt that I will ever be able to repay and will need to become a better person before I truly deserve.

The shoot went well. There was a slight shower of rain and then no other major problems. The scene came together smoothly. We got two different options. We finished early.

Then we went home and went to sleep.

It was like a sleep of a thousand years: I drifted pleasantly through different levels- sometimes surfacing and sometimes sinking back down into oblivion. If I dreamed then I don’t remember it. When I woke I felt more rested than I have for a long time. The lifted weight of production- even a minor one- was such a relief that I felt like a new person.

Looking outside the window I discovered that it had rained while we slept. The ground was wet and gleaming with puddles and water still dripped from the ledges of the roofs over the car ports and the edges of the balconies. I have often felt the need to sleep when rain approaches: I suspect that it might have something to do with the change in air pressure before a weather front moves through, but I don’t know for sure. It’s not a feeling that I get to feel very often here in sunny California anymore, but I was grateful to feel it today. Tomorrow will feel like a new day.

Nap or no nap, though, I ought to be getting to bed now before it gets much later, so that is all for today.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on February 22, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
