Hotshot


Ever since I gave Glenn my watch, it's always right now to me.

Ever since I gave Glenn my watch, it’s always right now to me.

I just had one of those five hour energy shots.

It’s a Monday evening and I have class until ten so it seemed like a good idea to have a little pick-me-up. It was either an energy shot or coffee and since I didn’t have time or money to wait in line at the Coffee Bean I decided I would just go with the energy shot.

I don’t think I’ve ever typed so fast of so focused before in my life. It’s been an hour and a half and the whole time has consisted of my fingers flying over the keyboard of my laptop. On the one hand, it is pretty exhilarating to be so focused. On the other hand, there is a part of me stepping back from the situation saying: “so that caffeine is really kicking in, eh?” Which makes me think that “that caffeine” might’ve been a bit too much caffeine for a Monday evening.

Well, I still have four hours to go before I need to try to sleep.

For as much as I am enjoying the act of typing, I’m running a bit dry on content. The whole point of writing these daily posts is to keep in practice for the times when I need to write something important. My hope is that keeping myself in practice for putting words on paper will help prevent me from becoming intimidated in the face of the dreaded Midterm Paper or the Application Essay or the Personal Statement. Lately I’ve been putting this theory to the test. In the past few weeks I’ve written three or four Personal Statements for scholarship applications. The writing practice has been very helpful, but writing a personal statement just never gets easy.

Personal Statements are especially hard. In them, you’re supposed to describe yourself to an audience that may or may not be familiar with you. If they don’t know you then you have to talk about promote yourself without sounding too arrogant. You want to be funny but not alienating.  You don’t want to describe any weaknesses and yet you want to be honest about who you are. Sometimes you have to talk about your future without having the slightest clue what shape that future is going to hold. If they do know you then how do you account for their existing opinions whilst still giving an honest description of yourself? How do you express that your description is your opinion without sounding like you lack conviction?

At any rate, I’ve been doing a lot of this kind of writing lately, so my inspiration is a bit shot.

LOL. Shot.

Energy shot.

Pun.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on March 2, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
