Breakline


Aaaand it’s Spring Break.

Even though there isn’t going to be much of a break involved it still feels nice to think of the next week as a chance to recuperate for a while. I celebrated by making cupcakes from scratch. The cupcakes weren’t in honor of spring break, but rather in honor of the Curmudgeonly Lion’s birthday. It has been a long time since I’ve had the chance to do any baking so of course it took longer and involved more dithering than was strictly necessary, but I think it turned out ok. I’ve certainly had worse baking experiences: particularly with cake and frosting, which ended in a fit of rage and a veritable cake explosion when the frosting refused to spread smoothly and I compensated by bringing both fists down forcibly in the center of the cake.

It haunts me to this day.

I haven’t tried frosting the cupcakes yet. I made some flavored ganache, but it was still too hot to do anything with, so that will have to wait until tomorrow.

At any rate, in order to accomplish this feat of baking I had to stop at the grocery store on the way home which reminded me of another upcoming holiday: St Paddys Day.  Coming from Chicago I’m used to St Paddys Day being a big deal with a river dyed green and two parades on two days and green beer and corned beef, cabbage and potatoes on sale for dirt cheap. St Paddys Day here means that the Jameson had been moved to the end cap of the liquor aisle and Guinness is on clearance.

Bailey’s isn’t available at all.

Generally the attitude in Los Angeles is that St Paddy’s day is talked about more than it is actually celebrated. I don’t really mind- for all the festivities that took place in Chicago I always made a point of avoiding them based on the crowds, but I do miss the ready availability of corned beef. I celebrate with my stomach.

No matter: I still have a few days to figure out St Paddy’s Day and the rest of my break so I’m not worrying about it tonight.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on March 13, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
