Sunday on a Tuesday


My schedule begins to go back to normal tomorrow. It feels like tomorrow should be a Monday instead of a Wednesday and consequently today feels like a Sunday both in terms of being a day of relative leisure and feeling like the last day of a long weekend.

Alas, I’m not sure that I’m ready to go back to the grind.

I try to remind myself how lucky I am to feel this way: particularly on today, St Paddys day, when luck seems to be an especially important theme. I even tried looking for four leaf clovers. I’m lucky to have a grind to go to: the older that I get the more that I learn that having a sense of purpose is an important part of a satisfactory life and that it isn’t a given: not everybody has it and not everybody gets to keep it and the fact that I have it right now is worth treasuring even if I feel put upon for having to pursue it. Likewise I’m lucky to have the luxury of feeling put upon by having to get back to work over spring break because it means that I’m lucky enough to have the option of spring break in the first place: I’m not struggling to feed myself or to keep a roof overhead. I’m in the privileged position of having weekends and vacations that I get to call my own- even if I do whine ceaselessly about having to give them up. I’m lucky that I not only had a few days off but that I got to spend them with the Curmudgeonly Lion: a rare and lucky thing in and of itself. Most importantly, though, I’m lucky to be giving up this precious and lamented vacation time in pursuit of my own goals instead of someone else’s and I can know that the payoff is likely to benefit me directly.

I suppose this is me counting my blessings. I’m certainly lucky to have so many of them.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on March 17, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
