A Book in the Bag


At last! I finally finished my book: reading it, that is, not writing it. The book in question is “The Boys In The Boat”  which chronicles the story of the eight man rowing team from Washington that won the gold metal (spoiler alert) at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin.

It was a well written book and came highly recommended to me, but I still found myself struggling to finish it in time for the library’s due date. As a matter of fact it is now a full week overdue which probably explains why I’m starting to get gently insistent phone calls the library reminding me that I still have materials checked out. Now I’ll be able to return it tomorrow.

In the rare and pleasurable times that I actually get to sit and read I find books to be some of my greatest pleasures,  but at times like these where I only get to read a page or two a day I find books to be a frustrating reminder of how little free time I have and, as a result, how little mental focus I am able to maintain.

At any rate, I’ve stayed up too late reading as it is, so that is all I  have to say for tonight.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on March 18, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
