Creative Chaos


When I'm in my right mind it usually means that my left brain is FREAKING OUT.

When I’m in my right mind it usually means that my left brain is FREAKING OUT.

I’m feeling the impulse to make a list.

It’s a Friday and I’m in the uneasy mindset of having a lot of things to do, a lot of time to think about them, and not a lot of energy to actually do them. Energy or time, for that matter. Sometimes making a list is a good way for me to jump start the process. Other times I will write draft after draft of a to do list without ever crossing anything off of it- which isn’t helpful.

But there is something to be said for putting words down on paper. Somehow, putting tasks into writing and putting them in some kind of order helps them to seem more manageable. Counter-intuitively, long lists are actually better at this than short lists. A long list feels reassuringly unobtainable, whereas a short list can feel like “why-haven’t-I-crossed-a-single-thing-off-yet”?!!

Times like these call for an All Things list: a list of all the things that I can possibly think about needing to do. All Things lists don’t require a timeline. They aren’t in any order. They don’t require anything to be crossed off. An All Things list is just an index of all the things that need to eventually go on a To Do list when time and energy allow.

I think one of these would be helpful right now. Classes start up again next week and I know that I have a lot that I need to do to prepare and a lot that I meant to get done over the break and still haven’t accomplished so it would be good to capture these tasks in writing.

I guess that’s all I have to say on the topic of lists. It seemed like a good subject when I started writing, but I’m not sure that I had a point in mind. Not having a point in mind is probably why I need to be writing a list in the first place.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on March 20, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
