All The Rest


I didn’t have to be on campus until mid morning today- a rare late start. So naturally I took the opportunity to sleep in- you know, just a little bit. It never ceases to amaze me how even after a weekend at home I will still seize upon any opportunity for extra rest. Partly this is because my schedule is so busy that “free time” and “rest time” are essentially synonymous.

There are just some times when you need to do nothing.

Being who I am, though, I couldn’t do nothing for long. Very quickly upon actually dragging myself out of bed my morning turned into an exercise in finishing tasks. I vacuumed the living room. I did the dishes. I wrote a birthday card for a friend. I put the registration sticker on the van. Etc. This too felt like progress: a week or so ago I made myself a list of all the things that I needed to do. In a whole week I crossed off maybe five items, which was a very discouraging show of progress. Suddenly over the weekend I started to gain some momentum and progress began to move forward. If I’m very lucky this will be the start of a trend.

Perhaps it is because I have incentive to get things organized: my brother and sister-in-law arrive in town tomorrow and all my Clean-The-House-We’re-Expecting-Company instincts are kicking in and forcing me to actually deal with the clutter and paperwork and unfinished tasks around the house. It’s one thing to keep a pile of mending in the living room when you’re the only one to see it and quite another thing when the living room is suddenly going to be the center for entertaining- even if it is just family.

What can I say? I’m my mother’s daughter.

To be fair, it is getting to be that time of year: that is, the time of year when the cats start to shed like it is their job and the windows are always open to let the fine atmospheric silt of the Greater Los Angeles Area finds its way inside and settles on every surface. I can only stand so much grime.

Ok well I’ve written a whole post about cleaning now so I’m going to go ahead and call it a day.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on March 30, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
