Weather Front


I get the feeling that a weather front is moving in. A weather front feels like a stiff neck and a sore hip. A weather front feels like there isn’t enough coffee in the world to help me remember to grab my phone before leaving the house. A weather front feels like a deep sleep beset with wild dreams. The sky has been overcast and the weather cool and windy and I understand that rain is on the way although it hasn’t arrived yet.

I don’t like to admit how much a change in the weather affects me because it feels like an excuse to get out of taking responsibility for keeping track of the details of my life, but sometimes I just have to admit that something bigger than me is influencing my life. It turns out that I occasionally find myself “under the weather” and it turns out that this is different from being sick.

Luckily for me, today happens to be a relatively laid back day for a change. Of any day to be under the weather this day is just about as good as any other. My internship didn’t need me again for the day so my only true obligation is my evening directing class. I came to campus early in order to spend some time working on editing for the directing scene that I shot (after running into problems on the editing system at home), but I’m not up against a hard deadline for once: if I don’t get it done today then I can leave and work on it another time.

With this sudden windfall of unexpected free time I found myself looking at the calendar and realizing that I am in the final two weeks of classes: including exam week. Being this close to the end of the semester is both freeing and intimidating since it puts into perspective how much needs to be done and how little time remains to do it. I find myself beginning to slip into the classic mindset where I suddenly have LOTS of creative ideas simply because I have no time to work on them and I feel the sudden itch to do a bunch of creative writing and artwork. Maybe I’ll make the effort to squeeze in just a little bit along the way.

For now, though, I continue to just squeeze along with my current schedule, skirting the effects of the weather and trying to keep the momentum going.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on April 23, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
