Good Enough


Whatevs.

Whatevs.

I’m waiting for eggs to boil before going to bed. I have a timer set and nothing to do until it rings.

Since I haven’t written at all yet today now seemed like as good of a time as any to sit down and put some thoughts into words. Unfortunately, words have been eluding me today. Whatever I say seems to be the wrong thing so it seems like I ought to say nothing at all. I debated whether or not I even wanted to write tonight, but then felt guilty having the time and not using it.

Today didn’t turn out as planned. And yet it did. That is to say, I did all the things that I planned to do today: laundry, a movie with the Curmudgeonly Lion, going for a run, writing thank you notes and Mother’s Day cards, etc, but somehow it felt like things went wildly out of control. We finally got to the theatre to see “Avengers Age of Ultron”. I had low expectations, but high hopes going in and came out feeling a bit pummeled but otherwise unmoved by the film. It was a good enough film. It was a good enough theatre. It was a good enough audience- and considering the number of children and babies in the audience, “good enough” is pretty damn good, but I was kind of hoping for something better.

Well, the timer just went off and the cats are circling my ankles like kibble-seeking sharks so I’m going to wrap it up for the night.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on May 3, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
