Ready


What a difference a day or two of rest makes. I feel like a different person and ready to take on the summer. Such a relief.

I went running today after spending the day plowing through the remaining paperwork on the kitchen table. It was the third day in a row that I’ve managed to actually get out the door for a run. It would’ve been nice if this meant that the running was easy and satisfying, but instead it was a grind from beginning to end. I decided that I wasn’t going to push myself for speed: instead I would just try to keep running until I’d run a full mile before stopping and walking. The trick to this, I’ve found, is not looking too far ahead. It’s easier to keep going when the goal is just a few steps in front of you instead of a point in the distance.

All in all it was a satisfying day, but not a very noteworthy one. Went for a run. Ate my vegetables. Flossed my teeth. Cleaned my house. Filed my bills. I did everything on my list of goals except finishing a book. It doesn’t make for very interesting writing right now, but I have an inkling that the inspiration will bee striking soon, and now I feel ready for it.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on May 17, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
