Falling Drops


First it was sunny. Then it rained. Then it was sunny. Then it rained.

It was the kind of day in which weddings ourselves consulting our weather apps multiple times to know whether the weather was likely to hold long enough for an outdoor task. Early in the day my mother came into the house after mowing the lawn and I commented that it looked like she had finished just in time since the clouds appeared to be lowering for a good soaking. The Curmudgeonly Lion looked it up on his phone. “Rain will begin in thirteen minutes,” he announced. And it did. What a world we live in.

This pattern of rain and sun continued all day. Later, as we were stepping out of the house to go to dinner I walked out beneath an overhanging tree and thought nothing of the fact that a droplet fell on my shoulder. Until, that is, I looked over and realized it was bird droppings. My lucky day.

Bird droppings are apparently supposed to be good luck. Or a sign of riches. Or a statistical improbability. Or something. The internet seems to have a limited number source citations on this one so I’m not sure where the tradition originates or why luck and wealth should be associated with avian defecation. I suppose that I was lucky to be wearing a scarf at the time that was easy to remove and wash instead of having the droppings land on my head.

So there’s that.

Although, for what it’s worth, I wouldn’t mind having wealth too.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on May 26, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
