A Day In The Sun


image

If I were actually a cinematographer this would be better lit I'm sure.

Technically, yesterday was the day in the sun. We spent the day on the Paramount Studios back lot for the Cine Gear expo learning all the new advances in motion picture photography technology. We went back today but spent much more of the time lurking in the shade people-watching and in the cool, dark comfort of the sound stages to really consider it a day in the sun.

I only got a very minor sunburn.

We attended this Expo last year and had a great time. It was interesting to go back a year later an to see how much my perspective has changed in the meantime. The marvelous toys on display were all a tier or two (or more) above my current reach, but it was nice to have the chance to see them in real life and to know that someday they might be within my grasp.

The sensory overload from big events like the Expo is still wearing off a little bit. Coming home afterwards all I really wanted to do was sit quietly and read: an impulse that I have into yesterday but decided that I ought to make an effort tonight. It’s probably not my best work, but at least I put some words down on paper.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on June 6, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
