Productively Uninspired


Drawing a blank, brought to you by Magritte. (actually by Hugh Kretschmer)

Drawing a blank, brought to you by Magritte. (actually by Hugh Kretschmer)

I’m sitting here scratching my head about what to write.

It was a phenomenally productive day today, and very satisfying, but not very interesting to write about. The things that I accomplished were fun to cross off my list but not, in themselves, very thoughtful or compelling. One of my productions took a step back. One of my productions took a big step forward. Another one of my productions is screaming forward at warp speed. I keep checking in with myself, asking: “are we stressed yet?” and I keep discovering that the answer is “no, not yet”. This seems like progress. Maybe it won’t last, but I’m enjoying it while it does. I might actually be able to make a living at this business of production if I can keep up the sisu. (I done learnt me a new word 🙂

I have to wonder how much this new-found sense of calm comes from my recent changes in diet and exercise: nothing like a small freak-out about putting on weight to get oneself running five days a week and avoiding sweets and beer. (Alas, beer- how I miss you). I wish that I could say that the lifestyle changes have made a difference to my cruel, cruel bathroom scale, but hey, I’ll take increased concentration and decreased stress as a consolation prize any day of the week.

Well, now I’ve both whined about not knowing what to write about and bragged about making life changes, so I think my work is done here for the night. Hopefully tomorrow will bring more interesting topics to mind.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on June 16, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
