Auditions


You have tryouts for a sports team. You have auditions for a play. “Audition” from the same root word as “audio” and “auditory” meaning listening. Back in the day an audience went to “hear a play” rather than to see one.

We still use the word “audition” for film roles even though film is a much more visual medium than theatre. The very definition of a story being “cinematic” is a story that is shown rather than told. So really movie auditions should be called “videations” or something similar.

No matter what they are called, they are an onerous process for everyone involved. At least they are to me. It’s a very one sided form of speed dating.  I suppose that if I want to be a director then I’m going to need to find a way to get over my distaste for auditions.

The Curmudgeonly Lion probably has the right idea as he has lately been encouraging me to keep in touch with any and all actor friends that I know, even if it is just a casual acquaintance, so that I have a pool of talent to draw upon when I need it. I keep resisting the suggestion and I’m not really sure why, except that it might be because I’m too lazy/tired/busy to go out to a lot of shows or do a lot of socializing.

Anyway, I spent my morning helping with auditions. I’ll be going back for another round of them tomorrow. Doing auditions with a casting director is infinitely more satisfying than doing auditions on one’s own, that’s for sure. Someday maybe I’ll be a big enough shot to merit a casting director… I’ll know that I’ve made it when that happens.

Someday…

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on June 18, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
