The Noise


image

No! Please not another organ recital!

All weekend long there has been a mysterious whistling noise in the bedroom. For a while I assumed that it was coming from one of the fans: that enough dust had built up to make a faint, high pitched squeal that could only really be heard when trying to fall asleep. The sound was constant but not consistent: sometimes it would come and go or change pitch or even disappear for a moment but it always came back. Right now it is chirping. Being inconsistent made it impossible to tune out. I began to wonder if it was preventing us from sleeping which in turn might’ve explained why the Curmudgeonly Lion and I were so tired all weekend.

After three days of putting up with it I decided to investigate. I turned off the box fan. The Noise persisted. I turned off the mini fan on the bedside table. The Noise persisted. Perplexed, I began doing laps around the room to try to triangulate where the sound was coming from. It was still audible in the hallway, but less audible in the closet. It sounded different, but just as loud near the window. If I cupped my hands over my ears it got quieter but if I cupped them under my ears it got louder. I finally went outside and listened at the neighbors windows.

The sound seemed to be coming from the upstairs next door neighbors unit.

So now we determined where it is coming from but darned if we know what is causing it. I can only think that it is the result of something being left on whilst the neighbors were away for the weekend: if the sound has been this noticeable through a wall and a ceiling I have to assume that it is pretty noticeable wherever it is coming from. Surely after three days they would’ve noticed it, anyway… Right?

I may not be the best person to be rendering judgement over the neighbors at the moment. I’m definitely off my game this weekend- as proven by the fact that I managed to forget a load of laundry in the dryer for three days. I only noticed it when I realized that I never replenished my stock of running socks in spite of having done all the laundry in the house.

The Noise, I tell ya, it’s eroding my brain. I’m sitting here listening to it right now and hoping that earplugs will block it out. The pitch is so high that I worry it will cut right through any effort to block it out. Even the white noise of two fans isn’t drowning it out.

At any rate, I’m going to make an effort to go to bed now. Hopefully that means going to sleep… I could use it.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on July 5, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
