image

Early to rise? Schmerly to rise- sleeping through the night is the key to healthy, wealthy, and wise.

I slept through the night last night for a change. Lately there has been a high pitched whistling I the walls that makes it difficult to sleep, concentrate, and relax. For a while we thought it was coming from the box fans that we had set up to help fight off the unreasonable heat, so we just accepted it. After a while, though, it got annoying enough that I spent a solid twenty minutes trying to figure out where it was coming from- only to determine that it was somewhere I the walls between the apartments and out of my ability to control. I wrote about It a few days ago.

The Noise is still there.

So sleep had not been easy or satisfying Lately. Coupled with stress related insomnia I haven’t had a good night’s sleep in a while now- at least until last night. Waking up to the alarm was such a surprising pleasure that it surely seemed like the rest of my day was going to be off to an auspicious start.

Sure enough, I managed to dig in and really grind through a lot of work that had been hanging over my head. My ability to concentrate was suddenly laser focused- possibly because I want busy focusing on the knot in my chest anymore. I finished all my tasks on campus within four hours and headed home before rush hour. I realized that I actually could allow myself to, say, take a quick nap ( on the couch, of course, because the Noise doesn’t extend to the living room) or go for a run.

I did both these things.

When I get overwhelmed by production I often forget that it is not only OK but actually appropriate to still spend some time on yourself. It feels like a guilty pleasure. I run into a similar problem with creative work which feels like “fun” instead of work and always gets put on the back burner in favor of work that feels like work: because it doesn’t count as work if you like doing it.

Anyway, it was a productive day all around: creative wise, work wise, exercise wise… I squeezed in a little but if everything. If only all days could be like today!

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on July 9, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
