Down To The Copper


image

I like it because it's so subtle...

I find no shame in cheap jewelry. Maybe this is because I have no taste or maybe this is because I like what I like no matter what it is made of. Or possibly because half the time I choose jewelry based on sentiment instead of style: I’ll wear something a lot because it was a gift or because it makes me think of good times instead of because it matches the hardware on my purse and shoes.

There’s a down side, of course: green fingers and wrists. I have several pieces of jewelry that I’ve worn down to the copper. To look at my arms you might think I was experimenting with some of the more interesting adult lifestyle choices. But alas, no fifty shades of anything: just a favorite bracelet beginning to show it’s true colors.

Whenever I discover that a favorite piece of jewelry has a copper core I’m always beset by the same disappointment that I’m going to have to start wearing that piece of jewelry less. Seeing the surface actually wearing away is a reminder that it won’t last forever. Is it possible to ge piece of jewelry re-plated? Who knows. Probably- for a price. Is it even worth it? Probably not.

I guess there is an interesting, miniature form of acceptance-towards-aging that needs to take place. It is a choice that needs to be made: now that the shine is gone, is this thing still valuable to me? How do I come to terms with the knowledge that it will never be the same as when I first got it? Am I ok with the change?

I can’t help but think that it is more than just cheap jewelry that gets worn down to the copper in this lifetime and that there are the people who accept the change and the people who dismiss it. I’m pretty sure that I know what camp I fall into. I’m pretty ok with that.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on July 20, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
