Heat Wins


image

Noooooooooooooo!

The heat finally got the better of me today.

I can’t tell if I’m getting whimpier in my old age or if I’m having a perfectly natural response to heat+humidity+ production= Can’t Even.  All I know is that I hit the wall around two thirty and had to retreat back home to lie still in front of a box fan for a while.

Thanks to the recent rain, Los Angeles has been feeling downright Midwestern with the muggy air. How did I survive it when I lived in Chicago? I remember way hotter days. I remember way more humid days. I remember way less production too, so that might have something to do with it.

In spite of the heat and humidity and ennui, I managed to get out for a run.  Last week I was running practically every day but somehow four days slipped past me without me getting out the door. On the plus side I was rested, but on the minus side I had to navigate a gauntlet of strange and unexpected pains while my body figured out the business of running again. A cramp in the arch of one foot. A twinge in the joints up one leg on a stride that was out of alignment. Sweat finding new ways to smear my eyeliner. Persistent breathlessness. Etc.

Heh, come to think of it: that pretty well describes my physical state from the whole day. Especially the breathlessness: I think it must be the weather- I never knew how satisfying it was to take a full, deep breath until I started experiencing how unsatisfying it is to not be able to do so. It’s not like I’m turning blue or anything- clearly I was even able to go running without a problem, but it is an annoyance.

Anyway, I can only hope tomorrow will be cooler. It’s good to have dreams. 🙂

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on July 21, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
