image

I say, that smells like victory.

Ugh, it’s late and I’m drawing a blank. It was a busy and productive day, but not noteworthy. I sat myself down and took a frank look at my finances for the next six to nine months which wasn’t fun but needed doing. All that I know for sure is that I’m going to need to graduate from my M.F.A straight into a J.O.B, but this is not actually a surprise and my prospects seem pretty good.

I went for a morning run again. The running itself continues to be uninspired, but the ensuing state of serenity makes it worth it. It’s been a long time since I’ve gone running so many days in a row so I’m partly hoping that I can keep up the trend and partly hoping that I can avoid hurting myself by not allowing enough time for rest. It’s a delicate balance, although I’m reasonably certain that my schedule will get busy before my legs give out.

In an effort to add some variety to my running I took a new route this morning and was struck by how different it smelled from my usual route. Sometimes running feels like a tour of aromas: the exhaust of a diesel truck, the dry whisp of pine, the sweet floral smell of honeysuckle or roses in bloom. The smell of wet pavement where the sprinklers are on. The smell of cut grass. The smell of cheese flavored danishes outside the grocery store. Sometimes it’s more fun to just concentrate on the smells than the running.

Anyway, that was my day.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on July 28, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
