Braaaains


image

Check out those brains

I’m typically pretty late to the game when it comes to seeing movies. Even if there is a film that I want to see, it’s pretty  likely that I won’t get around to watching it until it is on TV. Sometimes not even then.

I was interested to see the movie “Lucy” when I first saw the trailer. When we learned that it was scheduled to play in television last night we set up the DVR to record it. (I couldn’t sit and watch it: I had a location scout). Today I managed to squeeze it in.  I even managed to stay focused for the entire ninety minutes, which is a rare phenomenon for me: and that goes double when I’m in production. Some days it’s hard to sit through a thirty minute comedy without getting antsy.

At any rate, I enjoyed it. I like to think of it as a prequel to “Under The Skin”. The concept that humans use only ten percent of their brains is erroneous, of course, but it got me thinking about, well, thinking. Out seems like lately I’ve been learning a lot of new factoids about the brain: like the fact that it is only possible to think about one thing at a time ( and by “think” I really mean “focus on consciously”) or that the brain itself is so dense that some of it is still left over after cremation (we’re talking about two hours at 1800 degrees- can you imagine?)

The myth that we only use ten percent of our brains is a tempting one, though. What a relief it would be to have so much untapped potential! How reassuring would it be too think that there is inherent greatness in us if we could only reach into ourselves and bring it to the surface.

I had a small revelation on this subject recently: that so many people assume that greatness comes from the top: from uncompromising ideals and the insistence of perfection and genius inspiration. There is this sense that greatness is like a lightning bolt that comes upon the chosen as a rare and phenomenal occurrence. I’m beginning to think that greatness isn’t defined by how much success you acquire but rather how much failure you avoid. I sometimes worry that I lack artistic integrity for declaring things “good enough” but there are some times when just getting something done feels more important than getting it perfect. The “perfect” way isn’t always the right way.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on August 1, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
