Sore


For reasons that I have now mostly forgotten and almost entirely regret; I decided that it would be a good idea to do Pilates instead of going for my usual run. This was yesterday. My schedule got busy and I had to get out the door first thing in the morning which meant that I wasn’t going to be able to start my day with a sweat induced endorphin surge to calm my nerves.

When I later found myself with a bit of down time around lunch hour I thought that I could make up for the missed run by doing some floor exercises: I could still break a sweat without risking a sunburn. Right?

Besides, I reasoned, I’ve been running nearly every day now: how hard could it be? Famous last words. I’m so sore today that sneezing is excruciating and laughing brings tears to my eyes- and not in a good way. Clearly, much of my body is still wildly out of shape and happy to let my legs do all the… heh… legwork of running.

I daresay the workout was just as strenuous and the sweat just as plentiful as if I’d gone running, but Pilates didn’t have the same calming effect. I finished the workout tired, but in the unpleasant way bordering on shaky, not the pleasant warm glow of a job well run. And, of course I have all day today to feel sore and think about my actions.

So today I went back to running.

As sore as I am, and as much as I’m lamenting not getting my runner’s high for that day, I think it was probably a good choice: these muscles are sore because I’m not using them enough. Running is good, but balancing out the physical fitness of the whole body is better.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on August 1, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
