Familiar Faces


image

On Saturday I went on a location scout. Being, as I am, the kind of person who is paranoid about being on time I found myself at the address nearly half an hour early. Since no one was around yet I did the obvious thing: I went to get coffee.

While standing in line at the nearest Starbucks I happened to glance at the door as another patron entered. He looked familiar, but I couldn’t place him.

“He must be someone from TV,” my mind suggested helpfully. Then it added: “Don’t stare, it’s rude.”

I didn’t want to be rude so I turned away. Then from behind me I heard:

“Gwydhar!”

Pronounced correctly! Someone knew me!

I turned around to see the same patron behind me.

“Steve Flick,” he prompted, and even as he said it I recognized him with embarrassment: a professor from the university. I’d never had a class with him, but I knew him from the sound department. Seeing him out of context had thrown me for a loop.

It was only afterwards that I realized with amusement that I’d gradually crossed a tipping point in LA culture: in Chicago if I’d seen someone that I recognized but couldn’t place I would’ve given a lot more thought to where I might know them from. Client? Friend of my folks’? Old neighbor?  But now that I’m here in Los Angeles my first reaction upon recognizing a face without a name is ” it must be someone from television”.

I suppose if I’m very lucky I’ll be able to say that I do actually recognize people from TV as people that I know. That will be taking things to a whole new level.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on August 3, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
