Air


We finally gave in and turned on the air conditioning. For the first time in weeks I woke up in the middle of the night to get under more covers. Then, of course I couldn’t fall asleep again and when I finally did it was fraught with wild dreams.

I woke up feeling ok but shortly afterwards was stabbed in the chest with spikes of adrenaline about some fear that I couldn’t even articulate. It was going to be a day for morning running. I got up and saw the Curmudgeonly Lion out the door and sat down to braid my hair. As I was coiling it into a bun I felt a twinge down the side of my neck and into my back.

Shit.

It wasn’t quite bad enough to call it my back “going out” but it was bad enough that I knew ibuprofen wasn’t going to help me. Neck pain is exhausting. Already I was tired. My mood was not improving.

Determined to soldier on I headed out for my run. It was a beautiful goddamn day without a goddamn cloud in the goddamn sky. It was 7:15 in the morning and the sun was already well above the tops of the buildings blazing down with all its might. I’d already gotten a sunburn the day before: it looked like it was going to bake in a second time.

I did my best with the run but my heart and mind wasn’t in it. I took my usual route and went the usual distance but gained neither insight nor inspiration for the day ahead. I could only hope that I was sweating out the poison and I’d feel better after the fact.

I felt moderately less bad.

Even ‘bad’ was too strong for it- I just felt dull, frustrated, disconnected, worn out. A part of me wants to blame the air conditioning, but the MUCH bigger part of me is glad to not be sweating for a while.

Anyway, the rest of the day went reasonably well, in spite of my initial bad attitude. We still have the air on tonight so I will plan to start beneath the covers and see if that helps.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on August 4, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
