Wild Home


It was a long day of production and I was glad that I wouldn’t have much to unload when I got home. I drove home listening to the radio and not bothering with the GPS which meant that I got lost twice- the first time missing the entrance to the highway and the second time heading the wrong way on the wrong highway before realizing that I was heading west instead of south. I thought it would be a relief to just get home and relax for a little while before bed. I made it all the way to the last intersection before my apartment building discover that the street was blocked by a cluster of police SUVs at both ends with a helicopter circling overhead.

This actually wasn’t the first time I’d run into a police chase with a helicopter that day. In the morning, on set, I’d walked back to where I’d parked the van with another crew member on order to retrieve some sound blankets only to have a police helicopter circle overhead the whole time. I never did find out what kind of police action was taking place for that one: just that it seemed to be intense and seemed to be nearby.

Back at home I drove around the block. The far end of the street turned out to be even more impassable than the side I originally approached, but there was a gas station where I pulled in to wait figuring that at least there I could see when the hubbub died down. I sat there for fifteen minutes watching the helicopter make circles overhead; the searchlight probing the neighboring apartment complex with every pass. Behind me I could see a crowd of pedestrians gathering trying to see what all the fuss was about. I debated with myself about whether or not I wanted to join them, but decided that whatever had happened wasn’t happening for the benefit of my entertainment and I’d just be in the way if anything important was going on.

Besides, by then I just wanted to go home.

After a while I drove back around the block again. I was just about ready to park on the street and walk home when the police SUVs left and the road opened up again. I never did hear weekday the fuss was all about. I went home and went to bed, the police helicopter still circling overhead.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on August 15, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
