Reordering


image

It was a day for naps, errands, and housekeeping. I had this goal in mind about getting the whole house clean and my life back in order before tomorrow when I need to go to campus for some start-of-the-semester meetings and preparations. Classes may not start until Monday, but as far as my schedule is concerned the semester begins tomorrow.

Well, I didn’t get the house clean, but I did get a few loads of laundry done, the production kits put back in storage, the van cleaned and vacuumed, books out of the library, quarters out of the bank, and the production rental truck returned without incident. And went for a run. And had a nap.

So all In all, a productive day.

That said, though, I still have plenty left on my list. Now that the hard deadlines of production aren’t hanging over my head I find that my sense of time is a bit warped and I have trouble keeping track of how fast it is passing. Sometimes I feel like I’m moving at a snail’s pace. Other times I glance up to discover that several hours have passed without my noticing. Without the formal structure of a schedule it’s easy for time to get mushy.

This is similar to Experience, I think. I was thinking about Experience as I was running this morning and how my filmmaking Experience is so much expanded from all these summer productions. Tasks that used to feel impossibly complex and convoluted now seem perfectly manageable, yet still there are complex and convoluted problems to be solved. It is as if Experience is some kind of internal balloon that keeps expanding and if I really want to keep it taut I need to keep pushing myself and stretching my limits. If I back off, the balloon doesn’t get smaller: I don’t lose experience, but if I’m not working to keep it topped up then it shrivels a little bit and gets soft. ( That’s what she said, LOL).

Anyway, I think it’s appropriate to have a little softness right now. It won’t last long.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on August 20, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
