First Day Last Year


Another first day of classes.

It’s dinner hour and I’m sitting up in the graduate student lounge eating grapes out of a tupperware and trying to use my time wisely. I’ve been on campus since eleven in the morning, although my first class isn’t for another hour and a half. I spent the afternoon assisting on a class and walking around campus trying to square away errands that needed to be taken care of before the semester gets up steam. My class tonight goes until eleven in the evening which has a nice symmetry to it even if it does make for a long day and a late night.

It’s the first day of my final year in the graduate program. Looking back it is hard for me to fathom the idea that this time last year I was just getting started on my first “546” project (read: intermediate level film). This time last year I’d never done a proper budget. This time last year I’d never done a shoot for more than four days. It feels like it was about five years ago and happening to somebody else. I suppose in a way it did happen to somebody else: I certainly wasn’t the same person then that I am now. It feels impossibly long ago since I had my first day at the program- back when I was worried about whether anybody would like me or if I would actually turn out to have any skills. I was definitely a different person then. It seemed like dream to be able to go to a place where I could focus exclusively on making films and where everyone around me would take me seriously for it. It still does: and while I’m looking forward to graduating, I hope that doesnt mean that I’ll have to wake up.

Considering how much water seems to have passed under the bridge, I am having a hard time visualizing what kind of person I will be a year from now. Will I look back on this last first day of school and shake my head at how long ago it feels? I kind of hope so since I kinda hope that the year will be so busy that I manage to squeeze in an unbelievable amount of interesting stuff into it. That said, I hope that it also goes slowly enough that I get to enjoy it a little bit. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see.

 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on August 24, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
