Cat Nap


image

There’s no nap like a nap with a cat.

It was a lazy Sunday: I had a meeting with a classmate about a project and then the Curmudgeonly Lion and I ran some errands and went to Chipolte to use up some coupons that were about to expire. We had a Skype visit planned with our nieces mid-afternoon so we hurried home to wait for the call. The appointed time came and so did a text saying that they were out at the grocery store and could we do the call when they got home in a little bit; which was fine- we didn’t have anything else going on.

By this time, sitting on the couch, full of burrito, with a cat curled up nearby it seemed like an auspicious time for a little siesta. I didn’t want to disturb the cat, so I curled up on halls of the couch with my head against his belly. I almost joked that I was wearing a cat as a hat, but I fell asleep before I could even frame the thought as a punchline. And I slept pretty restfully too considering that I was curled up like a sardine on a futon. I woke up tho the sound of an incoming Skype call with a stiff ankle and a kinked neck that still somehow seemed worth it.

There is something about sleeping in the company of a cat that takes a nap to the next level. I’m not sure what it is. I haven’t gotten to enjoy the privilege much lately with the heat making the thought of cuddling with anything unappealing. The air conditioning helped with that, at least. It was good to get the extra rest.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on August 30, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
