Work and Play


I meant to write earlier. I even opened WordPress on my laptop and started a new blank post before getting distracted. By the time I un-distracted myself I did get around to writing but instead of writing a post I actually say down and bashed out the opening sequence for a script that I’m going to be developing for one of my producing classes: a task that I’ve been meaning to get around to for three weeks now. I didn’t get far, only about five pages in all ( but action rather than dialogue, so they were solid pages) but I was shocked to realize how much I missed creative writing. A full hour went by before I remembered to look at a clock. I emerged from my state of concentration feeling strangely rejuvenated and refreshed: I felt no need for coffee before class.

I’ve been longing to pursue creativity for a while now, but I always seem to put it off. Creativity equates to play. Sometimes I think I’ve forgotten how to play altogether- there doesn’t seem to be a point to play… which, of course, is the point. It doesn’t accomplish anything… which, of course, is the point. I just don’t seem to be able to get past the point of needing to get to the point. Play seems to be a skill with which I’ve fallen badly out of practice and I don’t quite know how to go about regaining it: it just doesn’t seem like the kind of thing you can work at.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on September 8, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
