Lately, when I write I find myself emerging an hour to ninety minutes later. It usually feels like I’ve been under water for all that time and I’m finally surfacing for air. Only I don’t feel like I’ve been drowning: the time spent buried in creative space is like time spent in a deep sleep- I have no recollection of what I was doing all that time, but waking up leaves me with a feeling of satisfaction that makes it feel worth it.

No wonder people pursue creative professions.

I sometimes think that my default state when it comes to writing is a state of perpetual low grade writer’s block. At times like these when the words seem to flow and the act of writing seems effortless- rare times like these, I can certainly see why people might choose to slog through the slow times.

At the moment, I have the advantage of not having read anything that I’ve written. In my mind it is fanTASTIC. In reality it’s probably only medium good with a lot of false starts and fat to be trimmed, but the words are on paper and that’s the important part. I can edit later. In fact, I’m planning on saving all my editing for later so that I don’t get critical too soon.

On that note, I’m headed to bed, but I’d rather be writing.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on September 10, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
