OK Back to the real world now.

OK Back to the real world now.

I didn’t write much in the way of posts this week. I have this project for one of my classes that requires me to have a feature script ready for development. For a long time I’ve been wanting to adapt a favorite sci-fi novel of mine so this seemed like the chance to do it and for the past week or so it has been the only thing that I’ve wanted to work on.

It’s a bit giddy to be that absorbed in a project. The confidence of knowing that I can sit down at a computer and that I will actually spend the next hour and a half writing instead of surfing Facebook, or staring at the wall, or chasing the last surviving goddamn fly around the kitchen with a dishtowel is a pretty exciting feeling.

It felt too good to last.

The enthusiasm began to throttle down sometime yesterday. I sat and wrote, diligently, for a few solid hours, but I wasn’t getting the same depth of concentration that I’d been getting before. The action within the story was picking up, but by interest in writing it was beginning to dwindle down. I suppose this is a natural ebb and flow of the creative process, but it is frustrating nonetheless. Starting things has never been a problem for me. Finishing things, on the other hand….

So anyway, I gave myself the permission to take a break from it today. I had a meeting. I went grocery shopping. I made banana bread. I went for a run. The problem is that I’m still far enough into the creative mindset that I don’t *quite* have the patience or concentration to put together a To Do list, but on the other hand I don’t have enough creative motivation to actually implement any of the creative energy, which is frustrating.

Tomorrow begins another week and it is filling up fast. Hopefully I will be able to stay on task with everything that I’ve committed to and still be able to spend some time in a creative mind-space. Now that I’ve been reminded of what that creative feeling is like I’m reluctant to let it go.

 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on September 13, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
