Ups and Downs


At a certain point, I just had to go home. When I left the house this morning I figured that I would stay on campus for the whole day until my evening meeting and I packed accordingly. I arrived on campus laden with Things To Be Done, but when I actually sat down to do it, I found myself unable to make any progress. All that I could think about was all the things that I still hadn’t done yet.

I just wanted to go home. So I did.

I have to credit the Curmudgeonly Lion for prompting me to make this decision. In my own mind, many reasoning ran that if I went home I would waste a lot of time in the car going back and forth, but as he pointed out- I would have several hours at home in between, and that way I’d get to see him for dinner.

I didn’t need persuading, I just needed an excuse.

The first thing that I did at home ( after starting up the coffee pot and putting eggs in a pot of water to boil) was take a nap. I just wanted to reset my attitude. So I napped to the sound of boiling eggs and got up with the timer. The nap seemed to help: I sat down and began to tackle the work instead of lament about it and an hour later was able to clear about an inch of paperwork off the kitchen table. The feeling of accomplishment lasted until I restacked the To Do pile and discovered that it had gotten, unaccountably, larger.

So the day has had its ups and downs.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on September 16, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
