Old New Clothes


It was laundry day. I opened my dresser drawer to find something to wear that wouldn’t make me die of the heat and came up empty so I put on yesterday’s clothes and resolved to do laundry. I was even half tempted to go buy some more clothes so that I could go for more than a day or two without weighing the relative merits of overheating in clean clothes or being comfortable in dirty ones, but the thought of going to the mall on a Saturday and spending money on clothes was more effort than I was prepared to put forth.

A solution presented itself to me as I was gathering a laundry basket from the closet: in the corner was a bag of clothes waiting to be taken to the dry cleaners. At the deepest strata, some of these clothes had been waiting since before we moved to California. More than a few of them were clothes that I’d even forgotten that I had.

I tried a few of them on: they mostly seemed to fit. I figured that the cost of getting them cleaned was probably less than I was going to pay to buy new clothes anyway. Now all I have to do is get to the dry cleaners. I’m thinking maybe Wednesday. We’ll see.

Sometimes I wish that clothing wasn’t that important. It would be nice if I could just order stuff online and have it show up at my door and know that it would already fit. The business of going to a store and wandering around under fluorescent lights listening to lite pop music and thumbing through racks of clothes that I will then have to put on and take off under more fluorescent lights and the watchful eye of store security before buying them seems like an absurdly complex ritual, although I understand that many women find this activity appealing. What do I know?

Anyway, I was spared that nonsense for another day.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on September 19, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
