Straight Through


I see she has achieved "hands free" status.

I see she has achieved “hands free” status.

Dinner is consisting of a cold ear of corn on the cob; eaten one handed while I type this with the other hand. I’ve heard it said that you shouldn’t have any distractions while you eat, but I feel pretty certain that whoever said that wasn’t in graduate school and/or film production. This is actually an upgrade: I’m not trying to commute at the same time.

It has just been one of those days: I got off to a roaring start in an effort to catch up on a few things that I should’ve gotten around to doing over the weekend. I succeeded in making up a bit of lost ground, but I also succeeded in leaving the house without my phone. I hate to be one of those people who can’t live without their phone, but… I kinda can’t live without my phone. I don’t carry a watch. I don’t carry a day planner. I prefer to not use my laptop in class if I can help it- the temptation to do other tasks is just too great . At least on a day like today my schedule was pretty much wall to wall so I knew where I had to be and who I needed to meet and when to expect them. Of all days to forget my phone this one was as probably as good as any… I still feel strange without it, though.

One of my appointments of the day was to get my yearbook photo taken. Not that I’m planning on getting a yearbook, but it seemed important to at least appear in it as proof that I was here. Its hard to believe that I’ll be graduating this year. The real world is beginning to loom large on the horizon, but it is still too soon to have a viable Plan in place for it yet which is a bit unnerving. I feel confident that the right opportunity will present itself if I can be pro-active. In the meantime I’m trying to enjoy my warm, comfy cocoon of graduate studies for as long as I can.

On that note, its time to get to class so I’ll wrap this up.

 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on September 21, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
