The Little Spot


Other Spots

Other Spots

In my dream I was visiting a friend in Chicago. It may have been my sister.

We decided that we wanted to go to a restaurant called the Pink Spot. This could be reached from the pink line el train and appeared as a landmark on all the CTA route maps. I had the sense that it was some kind of Chicago landmark restaurant like the Berghoff or the Green Mill or Ann Sathers, but I’d never been to it before. I found myself reading about it on a large wall placard describing the history of the restaurant and it’s traditions. Beside the text there was the logo for the Pink Spot: unsurprisingly, this consisted of a pink spot about seven inches across.

The placard described that there was also a second, hidden version of the restaurant called The Little Spot. The Little Spot was not a landmark: it didn’t appear on any maps and you could only get to it if you already knew where it was. Looking closely at the placard I could see that there was a faint outline of another, smaller spot just below the logo for the Pink Spot. This smaller spot didn’t seem to be an actual logo so much as the outline of something that had been removed. In my mind I realized that there had once been a round photograph of the Pink Spot owner and friends taped in this spot and the rest of the placard had faded with age around it. The owner had created the Little Spot just for these friends- or maybe in memory of them (the dream wasn’t clear on this). Whatever the reason, it was personal.

So we decided that we wanted to go to the Pink Spot. I needed to buy a CTA pass in order to get there. I figured I could get a ten ride ticket from one of the ticket vending machines, but when I went to buy it the readout on the screen said:

You are about to be attacked.

I wasn’t sure what to make of this. The vending machine had further instructions.

Don’t look around. Don’t let them know you know. It will be a thin man coming from behind.

In the reflections off the surface of the display screen I could see a handful of people behind me.

Fight them off quietly and wait for more instructions.

The machine spit out a ticket. I watched the thin man approach from behind and managed to elbow him and knock him down before he could grab me and I ran away.

And then I woke up.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on September 23, 2015.

One Response to “The Little Spot”

  1. I’ll be sure to keep an eye out for a thin man next time I take the pink line!

Leave a Reply

 
