Starts and Finishes


October already. There are months and then there are months if you know what I’m saying and September was one of the latter kind. October is shaping up to be just as intense.

I’ve decided what one of my New Year’s resolutions is going to be for the coming year: Finishing Things. Specific things. There will be list, of course, and the goal will be to cross as many things off of it as possible without adding anything new. The second part is likely to be more difficult than the first. I also see no reason why I should wait until January to start finishing things: I might as well start now.

To get in the spirit of things, I finished one of my library books and returned it. It was only one day late, nothing like a deadline to make reading a priority. I hope to finish the other one this weekend.

I’m still trying to think my way around this recent realization that I don’t ask for help until too late out of a fear that I won’t get it. Maybe I haven’t examined this as closely as I like to think. It’s difficult to know if I’m being completely honest with myself during these self examinations. Now that I know it’s there, though, I keep worrying at it like it’s a loose thread. Sooner or later, I suppose, something will unravel.

Ok that’s all for tonight. Another thing finished.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on October 2, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
